Viewport width =
September 27, 2015 | by  | in News |
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestTweet about this on Twitter

Big year for the blues

Vic students prove you can be smart and sporty

Last week 56 Victoria Students were awarded for excellence in sports at the University’s Blues Awards.

Awarded to those who have “brought credit to the institution through their sporting achievements or contribution to sport”.

Described as one of the most prestigious and long-standing accolades the University can grant (apart from your actual degree, of course), the awards have existed at Victoria since 1903.

Vice-Chancellor Grant Guilford claimed the awards give the University “the opportunity to acknowledge those students who have achieved outstanding sporting success through tremendous hard-work and dedication, while also successfully balancing the academic responsibilities of assignments, tutorials, labs and lectures”.

VUWSA President Rick Zwaan told Salient that “it was a fantastic event and a pleasure to acknowledge the immense amount of sporting talent we have at Victoria” with the 56 awards making it “one of the largest Blues awards we’ve had in a while”.

Around 30 awards were given out in 2014 and 2013 respectively.

Victoria Sportsperson of the Year

James Blackwell

Sports Administrator of the Year

Sean Durkin

Pasifika Sportsperson of the Year

Teariki Ben-Nicholas

Māori Sportsperson of the Year

Ryan Hunt and Te Wehi o Mahura Wright

Blues Awards for Sport

Liam Albery

Portia Barcello
Cameron van Baarle

Tai Barham
Mohsen Maddah

Liam Doherty
Elizabeth Goulden
Joanah Ngan-Woo
Zackery Power
Sauimoana Solia

Harry Chamberlain
Navin Patel

Feliz Boyce
Nicola Martin
Nathaneal Walker-Hale

Canoe Slalom
Fergus Bramley
Thomas Guest

Sprint Kayaking
Tobias Booke
Max Brown

Ruairi Cahill-Fleury

Rifle Shooting
Jess Fair

Underwater Hockey
Jessica Freeland
Richard Kay
Tristan O’Neale
Helen Payn

Jack Gilpin
Kate Jordan
Johannah Kearney
Lauren McAndrew
Brook Walker
Luke Watts
Henry Whitford-Lee

Jackson Henry
Liam Malone
Keeley O’Hagan

Flying Disc
James Holth
Luke Humphries
Jonathan Jackson
Aaron Miller
Taison Pelman
Matt Richardson
Li Hao Yeoh

Sophia Johnston

Joanna Judge

Olivia Logan
Harry Miskimmin

Daniel Wilson

Sports Administration
Oscar Battell-Wallace
Frances Gray
Kimberley Savill
Eva Weatherall

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestTweet about this on Twitter

About the Author ()

Salient is a magazine. Salient is a website. Salient is an institution founded in 1938 to cater to the whim and fancy of students of Victoria University. We are partly funded by VUWSA and partly by gold bullion that was discovered under a pile of old Salients from the 40's. Salient welcomes your participation in debate on all the issues that we present to you, and if you're a student of Victoria University then you're more than welcome to drop in and have tea and scones with the contributors of this little rag in our little hideaway that overlooks Wellington.

Comments are closed.

Recent posts

  1. Laneway: Luck of the Draw
  2. Cuttin’ it with with Miss June
  3. SWAT
  4. Ravished by the Living Embodiment of All Our University Woes
  5. New Zealand’s First Rainbow Crossing is Here (and Queer)
  6. Chloe Has a Yarn About Mental Health
  7. “Stick with Vic” Makes “Insulting” and “Upsetting” Comments
  8. Presidential Address
  9. Final Review
  10. Tears Fall, and Sea Levels Rise

Editor's Pick

This Ain’t a Scene it’s a Goddamned Arm Wrestle

: Interior – Industrial Soviet Beerhall – Night It was late November and cold as hell when I stumbled into the Zhiguli Beer Hall. I was in Moscow, about to take the trans-Mongolian rail line to Beijing, and after finding someone in my hostel who could speak English, had decided